2016 World Car Awards Finalists Announced; Which Cars Do You Think Will Win?

A jury of 73 international automotive journalists, from 23 different countries, will vote for the winners in four different categories for the 2016 World Car Awards.

The road to the World Car of the Year nominations began in Frankfurt, on September 15, 2015, and continues now with the finalists that were announced today. At the 2016 Geneva show, on March 1, the top three finalists in each category will be announced.

The journey will end the same month, on the 24th, when the big winners will share the spotlight, at the 2016 New York Auto Show.

In order to be eligible for the award, all vehicles must be available in quantities of at least 10 in one major market, between January 1, 2015 and May 31, 2016.

2016 World Car of the Year

Audi A4 Sedan / Audi A4 Avant
Hyundai Tucson
Jaguar XE
Land Rover Discovery Sport
Mazda CX-3
Mazda MX-5
Mercedes-Benz GLC
Skoda Superb
Toyota Prius

2016 World Luxury Car

Audi Q7
BMW 7 Series
Jaguar XF
Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe
Volvo XC90

2016 World Performance Car

Audi R8 Coupe
Chevrolet Camaro
Honda Civic Type R
Mercedes-AMG C 63 Coupe
Range Rover Sport SVR

2016 World Green Car

BMW 330e Plug-in-hybrid
Chevrolet Volt
Toyota Prius
Toyota Mirai
Volkswagen Passat GTE

In related news, the 2016 European Car of the Year short list was made public last month and the big winner will be announced on February 29, prior to the Geneva Motor Show. This month, the new Honda Civic was named the 2016 North America Car of the Year, while the Volvo XC90 was voted the 2016 North American Truck of the Year.


Fiat Chrysler Planning To Test Vehicle-To-Grid Technology In Italy

FCA is joining forces with Terna for an innovative technology laboratory able to trial various electric mobility services.

France-Only Dacia Duster Black Collector Edition Goes On Sale Exclusively Online

The Duster Black Collector will be built in a limited run of 500 units solely for the French market and is priced at €19,490.

Toyota Boss Suggests Lexus Could Take To The Skies, Start Making Jets

Akio Toyoda has suggested Lexus could join Honda in the world of exclusive jets.

Skoda Karoq Production Hits The 250,000-Mark In Just 2 Years

Finished in black and powered by the 1.0 TSI engine, the milestone car was manufactured at Skoda’s Mlada Boleslav plant.

VW And Porsche Recalling 227,000 Cars Over Seatbelt And Airbag Issues

VW and Porsche have airbags and seatbelt pre-tensioners that may triggered incorrectly.

Tesla Says Model S Plaid Could Record 7:05 Nurburgring Lap Next Month

Tesla isn’t satisfied with the Model S Plaid prototype’s 7:20 ‘Ring time and thinks it can shave of a whole 15 seconds.

Robert Kubica Leaves Williams F1 After Just One Season

The Pole officially announced his departure from the British team, and most probably Formula 1, after struggling with performance.

Nanny No More: Simple Hack Lets You Do Donuts In A Tesla Model S

A bug in Tesla’s sofware lets owners disable stability control and regenerative braking, but without the electronic safety net, they’re out there on their own.

2017 Ford GT Comes With An Eye-Watering $1.3 Million Price Tag

Ford GTs are slowly entering the used car market after their two-year no-sale contracts are starting to expire.

2020 Toyota Granvia MPV Gets AUD $62,990 Starting Price

With space for the whole family, the Granvia will launch in Australia on October 14 in six- and eight-seat versions.